Newsletter banner 2 50%

Note: The FBI National Academy Associates, Inc. is a private nonprofit organization and is not a part of the Federal Bureau of Investigation or acting on behalf of the FBI.


General News Items:

Candidates for the FBI National Academy- The height/weight requirements to attend the Academy are being strictly adhered to. If your department is considering someone as a candidate it is very important that this person currently be at the height/weight that is required at the time of application. If a candidate fails to meet these requirements, it could result in North Carolina losing a slot in upcoming sessions. If you have any questions regarding these requirements please contact John Letterhos, the Training Coordinator at the FBI-Charlotte Office.

(Click here for the Academys Height/Weight Chart)

Promotions and Appointments:

Robert Helton, Gastonia Police Department, promoted to Assistant Chief, March 12, 2011, 221st Session.

Christopher Walker, Greensboro Police Department, promoted to Assistant Chief, March 1, 2011, 243rd Session.

James Buie, Gaston County Police Department, appointed Chief of Police, March 1, 2011, 199th Session.

Joe Bartlett, Greenville Police Department, promoted to Assistant Chief, January 1, 2011, 182nd Session.

Doug Cotton, Wilkes County Sheriff’s Office, promoted to Major, December 6, 2010, 189th Session.

Michael Dummett, appointed Chief of Police, December 2, 2010, Stallings Police Department, 237th Session.

Andy LeBeau, promoted to Captain, Boone Police Department, November 1, 2010, 240th Session.

Stanley Watkins, Iredell County Sheriff’s Office, promoted to Captain, October 1, 2010, 221st Session. 

Robert Dance, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Department, promoted to Sergeant, January 20, 2010, 223rd Session.

Scott Parker, US Marshal’s Service, appointed US Marshal for the Easter District of North Carolina, June 17, 2010, 225th Session.

Jeff Webb, Union County Sheriff’s Office, promoted to Captain, June 25, 2010, 225th Session. 

Jeff Leonard, Wake Forest Police Department, appointed Chief of Police, July 1, 2010, 224th Session.

Bradley Chandler, Fayetteville Police Department, promoted to Assistant Chief, August 30, 2010, 188th Session.

Ken Miller, Greensboro Police Department, appointed Chief of Police, September 1, 2010, 207th Session.



Captain Kenny Williams, Cary Police Department, retired March 31, 2011, 208th Session.

Chief Bill Farley, Gaston County Police Department, retired March 1, 2011, 180th Session.

Sheriff Dane C. Mastin, Wilkes County Sheriff’s Office, retired December 6, 2010, 150th Session.

Chief Brian Curran, Chapel Hill Police Department, retired December 1, 2010, 225th Session.

Lieutenant John D. Kissinger, Dare County Sheriff’s Office, retired December 1, 2010, 229th Session.

Major Chuck Johnson, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Department, retired December 1st, 2010, 211th Session.

Assistant Director Pamm Tully, NC State Bureau of Investigation, retired October 1, 2010, 202nd Session.

Captain Michael Carver, Kitty Hawk Police Department, retired October 1, 2010, 193rd Session.

Chief Tim Bellamy, Greensboro Police Department, retired August 1, 2010, 214th Session.



Lieutenant Roy Coley (Retired), Concord Police Department, passed away May 24, 2011, 173rd Session.

Captain Donald S. Overman (Retired), Raleigh Police Department, passed away February 17, 2011, 212th Session.

Special Agent Gerard D. Senatore, Federal Bureau of Investigation - Former Training Coordinator of the North Carolina Chapter of the FBI National Academy Associates, passed away on January 19, 2011.

Lieutenant Jimmy Dye (Retired), Tamarac Police Department, Florida, passed away on November 21, 2010, 156th Session.

Chief J. Gordon Bush (Retired), Lenoir Police Department, passed away on September 27, 2010, 23rd Session.


(Our condolences go out to the families of our fallen brothers and sisters)

To report events please contact Chapter Historian Myron Guthrie at: